Please get your nominations in for local Australia Day Awards before you get into Christmas, New Year and holidays

Liverpool Plains Shire Council Mayor, Councillor Doug Hawkins OAM, says the response to date calling for nominations for the Shire’s 2021 Australia Day Awards has been disappointing and he is encouraging the community to get nominations for worthy recipients in before they pack up for Christmas, New Year and holidays.

“These are grass roots awards, and they depend on nominations from community members being entered. Many volunteers and organisations have made remarkable contributions, under very difficult circumstances during 2020 and richly deserve acknowledgement. Please help repay their massive efforts by nominating someone you know who is deserving,” he said.

“There are seven categories, Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Local Legend, Sportsperson of the Year, Junior Sports Person of the Year, the Marie Maunder Community Service Award, and the Emergency Services Community Award.

“Full details of criteria, eligibility and the nomination process can be found on the official nomination form. Complete the form online at Alternatively, hard copies of the form are available from the LPSC Administration Centre, Werris Creek library and the Visitor Information Centre, Willow Tree. You can request a form be emailed to you by calling the Customer Service Desk on 6746 1755 or via email to Details of how to return completed nominations is provided on the forms,” he continued.

“There are many people who unselfishly contribute many hours of their time towards making our Shire a better place to live, so please spend just a few minutes of your time to nominate them and to let them know they are appreciated,” Councillor Hawkins concluded.

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday:

8.30AM - 5.00PM

Sat to Sun: Closed

Public Holidays: Closed


Physical Address

60 Station Street

Quirindi NSW



Postal Address

PO Box 152

Quirindi NSW


Contact Details

Phone: 02 6746 1755

Fax: 02 6746 3255


After Hours Emergency: 02 6746 1755